COLUMBUS, OH: American Municipal Power, Inc. (AMP) is pleased to announce the 2021 recipients of two scholarship programs, the Lyle B. Wright Scholarship and the Richard H. Gorsuch Scholarship. AMP is awarding a total of nine scholarships to graduating high school seniors.

Kyra Oldiges of Minster is a recipient of the Richard H. Gorsuch Scholarship.

Richard H. Gorsuch, who was dedicated to promoting the advantages of municipally owned electric systems, was the organization’s president from 1983 until his death in 1987. The $3,000 scholarships in this program are awarded to graduating seniors whose parent or guardian is an employee of either a municipal electric system or AMP, or who is an elected official with responsibility for the electric system. This year, 15 students were nominated for this award. The recipients were selected based on their scholastic record, personal achievements and test scores. Five graduating seniors are receiving the 2021 Gorsuch Scholarship.

Kyra is a graduating senior at Minster High School and plans to attend the University of Toledo to study biology and pre-medicine. Kyra, the daughter of Craig Oldiges and Dianne Oldiges, is a member of the National Honor Society and participated in student government, Girl Scouts, volleyball, softball and basketball. She also volunteered as a leader of the Get Real field days and participated in the district honor band. Craig is a member of the Minster Village Council.

Jolene Thompson, AMP President and CEO

“It is great to have a strong municipal electric community like Minster as home to one of this year’s Gorsuch scholarship recipients. This year’s group of scholarship applicants was outstanding, and I congratulate Miss Oldiges on her exceptional achievements and wish her the best of luck in her educational pursuits.”

The AMP Board of Trustees established the Richard H. Gorsuch and Lyle B. Wright scholarship programs in memory of public power leaders who contributed significantly to AMP and municipal electric systems in the region.

May be an image of text that says 'Congrats! το OUR 2021 SCHOLARSHIP RECIPEINTS Lyle B. Wright Scholarship Winners Richard H. Gorsuch Scholarship Winners Gavin Carr Cuyahoga Falls Dylan Aron Danville Lyndsi Engels Montpelier Matthew Belcher Marietta Lauren Menke Versailles Jillian Drinnon Bryan Joshua Tuite Schuylkill Haven Diana Johnson Troy Kyra Oldiges Minster Learn more about the AMP Scholarship AMPO Program at'

Since 1988, more than $400,000 has been awarded to deserving high school seniors through the AMP scholarship program. For more information about the program, click here.