Governor DeWine Signing bill

(7-24-19) Governor Mike DeWine signed House Bill 6 yesterday, just hours after it was passed by the Ohio State Legislature. The law is for an energy tax on electric customers to subsidize ($1 billion financial rescue) First Energy’s two northern Ohio nuclear plants, as well as Ohio Valley Electric Corp.’s Kyger Creek coal plant in Ohio and the Clifty Creek coal plant in Indiana.

The bill will eventually end requirements that utilities generate more power from wind and solar. $20 million annually from the bill will be used for large-scale solar projects already approved.

Ohio House of Representatives sent the bill to DeWine yesterday afternoon after passing with a 51-38 vote.

Governor Mike DeWine

“Our goal all along has been to save the nuclear plants, save the jobs but also to keep the cost of energy down for the ratepayer. I think House Bill 6 does that.”

Starting January 1, 2021, a fee will be added to electric bills of 85 cents a month for residential customers. That will raise about $150 million a year for two nuclear plants owned by FirstEnergy Solutions, which has filed for bankruptcy. Without the help from the state lawmakers, both plants were slated to close by 2021.