April 25, 2022

(COLUMBUS, Ohio) — Ohio Governor Mike DeWine and the Ohio Department of Commerce’s Division of State Fire Marshal announced the recipients of the 2022 Fire Department Equipment Grants, which includes 113 fire departments in 52 counties throughout the state totaling $1,080,792.16.

Governor DeWine said –

“We’re proud to support Ohio’s fire service with life-saving equipment through these grant dollars. This funding is a huge benefit to the fire service, especially for our volunteers, allowing them to better protect the lives and property of the communities they serve.”

Allowable equipment within the grant includes protective clothing, self-contained breathing apparatus, communications, and other miscellaneous equipment. The fire departments were selected based on a variety of criteria, including the fire department’s annual budget, number of fire incidents, and the resident population served by the fire department. Eligible fire departments must serve a population of less than 25,000, be in compliance and have submitted incident fire reports for the designated year. 

Auglaize County

  • $10,000 to the Buckland Fire Department
  • $10,000 to the Cridersville Fire Department

Van Wert County

  • $10,000 to the Ohio City Fire Department
  • $10,000 to the Willshire Fire Department

Ohio State Fire Marshal Kevin Reardon

“These grants help ensure our smaller and rural fire districts are supported with new life-saving equipment.This program supports Governor DeWine’s vision of strengthening the fire service by providing more resources for our volunteer fire departments.”

The State Fire Marshal Fire Department Equipment Grant application period opens each winter. For more information, visit the grants page here