(8-29-19) 13 Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles driver examination stations in Ohio will permanently closed on Sunda.

Driver license examination offices will close in Wapakoneta and Sidney, along with Ashland, Bryan, Cambridge, Carrolton, Chardon, Circleville, Gallipolis, Marysville, Mt. Vernon, Tiffin and Urbana.

The BMV presently operates 69 driver examination stations in Ohio. The September 1 closures are a part of an effort to streamline processes, optimize resources, offset costs and improve customer service.

In a release from the BMV –

“The optimization plan involves closing 13 underutilized testing stations that are either part-time or staffed with just a single employee in locations where demand for knowledge and skills tests is very low.”

The BMV will shift and expand the offering of knowledge tests from the closing stations to nearby deputy registrar agencies that provide more hours of service to customers. Skills tests will be shifted to larger existing examination stations.

“Incorporating staff into existing DXs will expand testing opportunities at 9 DX locations (initially) throughout the state to include a full day schedule on Monday, allowing us to provide better, expanded 6 day a week service while simultaneously reducing costs.”

Expanded six day a week skills testing will be offered in Alum Creek, Canton, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Hilliard, Huber Heights, Jackson, Toledo and Zanesville.