Dan Grothause

(3-19-19) -Dan Grothause, Safety & Transportation Supervisor for St. Marys City SD (Auglaize County) has been named Ohio’s 2019 winner of the William Rice Award of Excellence, making him Ohio’s Pupil Transportation Supervisor of the Year.

Grothause is very well-respected in his region, specifically among the Auglaize County superintendents. He is known as a go-to person for area supervisors, bus mechanics, and anyone needing assistance. Dan is very knowledgeable, fair, and well-respected among his peers.

He has approximately 37 years of service in the school transportation business, beginning as a school bus mechanic. With that said, those in his region are hoping that Dan doesn’t retire anytime soon, because they feel it could create a void in the area.

Dan was honored with the St. Marys Police Department Citizen Appreciation Award in May 2016. He has been instrumental in the County assisting the ESC with annual quality bus driver in-service, Mock Bus Crash in 2003 and 2010, holds quarterly county-wide safety meetings, helps organize and lead bus driver inservice and SRT (Special Response Team) training all the county bus drivers. On a District level including his day to day transportation duties he is responsible for  school safety, the submission of the districts safety plans, coordination of safety drills, leads monthly safety meetings that includes the EMA, local police department, representative from the county sheriff’s office, representative from the local medical center and school administration.

Dan’s professional organizations include long-time membership in the Ohio Association for Pupil Transportation, and 4 years of service as the West Region Director of the Ohio School Bus Mechanics Association. He served as a chairperson for one year and he spent 5 years on the  committee for the West Region School Bus Safety Road-E-O.

We congratulate Mr. Grothause for his dedication to the safety of Ohio’s children, and for his tireless service.

The William Rice Award of Excellence is given in memory of William Rice to an Ohio Pupil Transportation Administrator selected by the Awards Committee. It is the intent of this award to recognize administrators who exhibit outstanding leadership and professional conduct in the school transportation field, both in the districts they represent and in the State of Ohio, and also to administrators who have contributed to the advancement of school transportation as a profession.

This award is the highest honor that can be given to an Ohio Pupil Transportation Administrator.

To be eligible, nominees must be current OAPT members, must have two or more years of supervisory experience, have involvement in outside or professional activities (legislative, Road-E-O, OAPT committees, state committees) and must show evidence of interest in professional growth by attendance at seminars, regional meetings, and in-service.

Superintendents, Assistant Superintendents, Business Managers, Ohio Department of Education Pre-Service Instructors, and fellow Transportation Administrators are eligible to make nominations.