(2-24-23) The Fort Recovery Chamber of Commerce is proud to announce the nominees and recipients for their 42nd Annual Awards Banquet sponsored this year by Brockman Boeckman Funeral Home.

The 2022 “Citizen of the Year” has been awarded to Aimee Pottkotter. As a lifelong Fort Recovery resident, Aimee has volunteered her time for numerous organizations in the Fort Recovery area.

During 2022, Aimee served as a board member for the North Valley CYO. She also kept the books and ran the scoreboard for CYO games. Aimee also volunteered for other organizations such as Wendelin Sportsman Club and WOW Super Raffle.

Also receiving public nomination for Citizen of the Year is Judy Wood. The “Hall of Fame” award recipients for 2022 are Dr. Edward Hosbach and Kim Day.

Dr. Edward Hosbach has served the Fort Recovery community by volunteering his time with the Fort Recovery Athletic Department, Fort Recovery Chamber of Commerce, Fort Recovery Friends of the Arts, Fort Recovery Historical Society and many other organizations.

Mr. Kim Day is notably being recognized for his service to the Southwest Mercer Fire Department. He has served various roles with the fire department. Notably, Kim served 21 years as Fire Chief.

The Chamber will also present the Fort Recovery “Business of the Year” Award with the recipient being Brockman Boeckman Funeral Home. Owners Thomas Shaw and Eric Fee have continued a long tradition of caring for area family’s during their loss of a loved one. Along with their tradition of caring for our area’s family’s and community members they have done a great job starting education meetings/programs that help benefit our community members when it comes to preplanning/perpetuation planning. Brockman Boeckman Funeral Home has helped sponsor many of our communities’ events as well as volunteer their time for our community.

Mayor Dave Kaup will also be presenting the “Outstanding Community Service Award”, with this year’s award recipients being the Fort Recovery Friends of the Arts for their effort in providing a variety of entertainment at Hein Amphitheater. Additional awards to be presented at the banquet are the annual “Beautification” award winners.

This year’s recipients include: John & Jessica Jutte – Residential Property Award, Terrence & Ashley Corwin & Ralph & Anita Ranly – Most Improved Dwelling. The annual Chamber of Commerce Scholarship will be awarded to Fort Recovery High School Senior Chase Kaiser, son of Eric & Amy Kaiser.

These 2022 Award winners and nominees will be honored at the Annual Awards Banquet, sponsored by Brockman Boeckman Funeral Home, to be held March 12, 2023 at the Fort Recovery Elementary / Middle School Auditeria. Tickets for the banquet can be purchase at Fort Recovery Insurance Agency, Mercer Savings Bank, Park National Bank, First Financial Bank or by calling (419)375-4041.