(1-13-22) The Ohio Supreme Court ruled Wednesday that the new maps for Ohio House and Senate districts must be re-drawn due to not meeting voter approved provisions of the Ohio Constitution to reduce partisan political gerrymandering.

The 4-3 decision concluded the maps are invalid, because the Ohio Redistricting Commission did not attempt to draw legislative districts that correspond with voter preference.

Chief Justice Maureen O’Connor, Justice Michael P. Donnelly, Justice Jennifer Brunner and Justice Melody Stewart all joined in the majority opinion. Justice Sharon Kennedy, Justice Patrick Fischer and Justice R. Patrick DeWine dissented.

Details of the Court’s Decision