VAN WERT — The Van Wert Post of the Ohio State Highway Patrol announced on Friday Tucker Laux and Arin Smith were named Trooper and Dispatcher of the Year.

Trooper Laux (27) was selected based on his leadership skills, professional ethics, treatment of others, work enthusiasm and cooperation with supervisors, peers and the public.

Laux has been a member of the Highway Patrol since 2018. He is originally from Celina and graduated from Celina High School before attending Wright State University.

Laux served in the U.S. Coast Guard and has received awards in physical fitness, safe driving and criminal patrol, according to the release.

Smith was selected for her techinical job knowledge and ability, work enthusiasm, teamwork and response to the public’s need for information and assistance.

Smith joined the highway patrol in 2021 and graduated from Van Wert High School