(6-15-22) The MED Foundation of Mercer Health held its annual “Esmonde/Homan Memorial Golf Outing” on June 10th at the Mercer County Elks Golf Course.  The shot-gun start commenced after a golf ball drop 50/50 with the winning golf ball awarding $2,950 to the lucky winner from Celina.  The MED Foundation wishes to thank the many supporters of the golf outing, including the golfers, volunteers, and hole sponsors, which all help make the event a success and allows the MED Foundation to continue to provide scholarships to local students. This year the MED Foundation awarded 18 scholarships for $18,250 to 18 graduating seniors from the Class of 2022.  Since the inception of the program in 1992, 309 scholarships have been awarded totaling $328,200.00. 

Recipients this year include:

  • Celina – Aubrey Brinkman, Harlee Harris
  • Coldwater – Aubrey Koester, Ashlyn Koester, Kadance Blockberger, Grace Buschur, Rachel Wenning       
  • Ft. Recovery – Emma Fullenkamp
  • Marion Local – Ashlyn Bohman, Aliyah Arling, Hannah Buening, Lynn Schwieterman, Morgan Guggenbiller
  • Parkway – Leah Eichler, Riley Samples
  • St. Henry – Hannah Woods, Grace Lange, Clayton Everman

The winning teams of this year’s outing, include:

Men’s Division

  • 1st Place: Marsh McLennan Agency, LLC – Joe Woods, Tim Antil, Tyler Bertke, Andy Watson
  • 2nd Place: Emergency Physicians Group – Craig Dues, Andy Dues, Josh Siegel, Joe Turner
  • 3rd Place: Hemmelgarn Benefits – Randy Hemmelgarn, Howard Corona, JJ Woehrmyer, Michael McClurg

Women’s Division

  • 1st Place: Deb Kremer, Joyce Moeller, Treva Fortkamp, Natalie Rethman
  • 2nd Place: Bonnie Knapschaefer, Peg Muhlenkamp, Diane Lefeld, Jean Rolfes
  • 3rd Place: EverHeart Hospice – Kristi Strawser, Sarah Depoy, Kelley Hall, Amy Brenner

Co-Ed Division

  • 1st Place: Steve Samples, Teri Samples, Larry Stechschulte, Patti Stechschulte
  • 2nd Place: First Financial Bank – Jim Osmon, Scott Cockerell, Jenny Strayer, Jenny Willson
  • 3rd Place: Roger Klenke, Jim Wermert, Jody Schulze, Thea Langenkamp

Additional Awards were given for:

  • Men’s longest drive (under 50) – Josh Siegel
  • Men’s longest drive (over 50) – Jim Wermert
  • Women’s longest drive – Deb Kremer
  • Men’s long putt – Dave Mader
  • Women’s long putt – Kris Siefring
  • Men’s closest to pin – Larry Stechschulte
  • Women’s closest to pin – Diane Lefeld

Sponsors included:

  • Golf Ball Sponsor: RB Advertising
  • Corporate Sponsors:EverHeart Hospice, First Financial Bank, Community Sports & Therapy Center, Moeller Trucking, Park National Bank, Hemmelgarn Benefits, Preferred Insurance Center, Blue & Co., USI Insurance Services, KeyBridge Medical Revenue Care, The St. Henry Bank, and (IOS) Innovative Office Supplies & Marsh McLennan Agency
  • Birdie Sponsors:Wabash Mutual, The Messenger Press, Miller’s Textile Service, Technical Roofing of St. Henry, Tuttle Construction /Touchstone CPM
  • Par Sponsors: Edward Jones, John Yoder and The Peoples Bank Co.
  • Hole-in-One Sponsor: Stammen Insurance
  • Awards Sponsor: Mercer County Elks
  • Many, many door prize sponsors