(7-21-21) Republican Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy selected five Republicans to join the House panel that will investigate the January 6th riot at the U.S. Capitol.

McCarthy announced his picks on Monday, include ranking member Rep. Jim Banks of Indiana, plus Ohio Rep. Jim Jordan, Illinois Rep. Rodney Davis, North Dakota Rep. Kelly Armstrong and Texas Rep. Troy Nehls.

Rep. Jim Banks statement on being appointed by to serve as the Republican ranking member on the Select Committee-

Democratic House Homeland Security Chairman Bennie G. Thompson, D-Miss will be the committee’s Chairman and Democratic Reps. Adam B. Schiff of California, Jamie Raskin of Maryland, Zoe Lofgren of California, Pete Aguilar of California, Elaine Luria of Virginia and Stephanie Murphy of Florida. House Speaker Nancy Pelosi also selected Wyoming Republican Liz Cheney.

Two Republicans who voted to support the committee were Cheney and Adam Kinzinger of Illinois.