(4-30-21) Ohio State University-Lima hosted the Western Buckeye League Scholastic Bowl today.

Wapakoneta and Defiance tied during the competition with a 7-2 record in the round-robin tournament, the Bulldogs won the head-to-head tiebreaker with Wapakoneta, with Defiance being crowned the Scholastic Bowl Champion.

Members of the Defiance team included, Defiance varsity winner members include, Xavier Payne, Brandon Morgan, Andrew Sweeney and Caden Hazelton.

Wapakoneta team members included Gavin Sutton, Nathan Doll, Makahla Schnarre and Drew Pothast.

At the end of the day an All-Conference team was named, one member from each school was selected.

2021 Western Buckeye League Scholastic Bowl All Conference Team

BathMason Meyer
CelinaGage Seals
DefianceBrandon Morgan
ElidaCody Crates
KentonLily James
Ottawa-GlandorfTyler Cantrell
ShawneeReed Malcolm
St. MarysKaden Brackman
Van WertSophie Rutkowski
WapakonetaGavin Sutton

WBL Scholastic Bowl Tournament: Results

Varsity Standings

  • Defiance – 7-2
  • Wapakoneta – 7-2
  • Shawnee – 6-3
  • Ottawa-Glandorf – 5-4
  • Van Wert – 4-5
  • St Marys – 4-5
  • Celina – 4-5
  • Kenton – 3-6
  • Elida – 3-6
  • Bath – 2-7