(7-19-19) The JTD Hospital Foundation, the fundraising arm of Joint Township District Memorial Hospital, has awarded a $1,000 scholarship to Noah Shrock of Celina, Ohio for the 2019-2020 school years.  This fall, Noah will be attending Miami University pursuing a degree in Nursing. Last year’s Nursing Scholarship recipient, Sydney Cisco, has received a $1,000 renewable Nursing scholarship for the 2019-2020 school years as she continues to pursue her nursing degree at Capital University.

Linda Haines, Executive Director

“The Foundation, an affiliate of Grand Lake Health System, has awarded more than $278,000 in scholarships to area students since the Foundation began in 1991 .  “Scholarships are one of the most important programs of the JTD Hospital Foundation. We are pleased to be able to award these scholarships and look forward to a day when these students may choose to return and work within the Grand Lake Health System.”

Lana Hinders, Chief Nursing Officer states:

“The committee continues to be challenged by the number of qualified applicants making choosing just one very difficult.  The number of extracurricular and service activities combined with GPA and test scores reflects the outstanding school systems and community support these students receive prior to pursuing advanced education.  These students are well positioned for continued success beyond high school and even college.”

A major priority of the Foundation is to raise funds to invest in the education of our current and future health care professionals.  For the upcoming 2019-2020 academic years, the Foundation has given $20,000 in scholarship awards. Other 2019 scholarship award recipients include: Zachary Holztapple (Wapakoneta) $4,000 GLHS Medical Scholarship; Carrie Fesenmyer (New Bremen) and Lindsey Albers (New Yorkshire) each received a $1,000 Landen Phlipot Nursing Scholarship; Jordan Felver, Lydia Cron, Monika Stauffer, Riley Grant were each given a $500 Cindy Bruns Book Scholarship.


Nursing Scholarship Picture L-R:  Lana Hinders, Scholarship Committee Chair;  Noah Shrock, Celina; Linda Haines, Foundation Executive Director

Six Grand Lake Health System Family Scholarships were awarded to graduating area high schools seniors who plan to pursue a career in various allied health care fields.  These $1000 scholarships were awarded to: Emma Lutz, Celina Senior High; Hanna Pack, Minster; Lillian Wilson, New Bremen; Alicia Weadock, New Knoxville; Lauren Chapman, St. Marys;  Mackenzie Courter, Wapakoneta.

carrie f

Landen Phlipot Nursing Scholarship Recipients – Carrie Fesenmyer and Lindsey Albers

The JTDMH Medical Staff awarded a $2,000 scholarship to Lilian White and to Mitchell Weeman who are both enrolled in med school in Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine.

The JTD Hospital Foundation congratulates these recipients. For more information on how to give a gift to a scholarship fund, please call the JTD Hospital Foundation office a 419-394-3387, ext. 3574.